Kurukshetra University

University Description

The Kurukshetra University was established in 1956 as a unitary residential University and its foundation stone was laid by late Dr. Rajendra Prasad, the first President of India. Located in the holy city of Kurukshetra, land of the historical battle of 'Mahabharata' and the great message of Bhagwad Gita, its campus is situated on the western bank of Brahm Sarover (the holy tank) and extends over an area of over 400 acres. Starting with only the Department of Sanskrit, it has grown into a multi-faculty University as one of the premier centres for advanced study and research in the region.

The University’s programs combine the enduring value of a liberal arts education with the skills and experience offered by professional departments. The University has 445 teaching faculty members. The University also has 457 affiliated colleges and institutes in the Districts of Ambala, Panipat, Kaithal, Yamuna Nagar, Hisar, Fatehabad, Jind, Karnal, Sirsa, Kurukshetra and Panchkula.

Kurukshetra University has recognition from national government bodies in India such as the University Grants Commission (UGC), the All-India Council of Technical Education (AICTE) apart from the accreditation from NAAC.

Contact Person's Details

  • Name : Prof. Manjula Chaudhary, Director, Directorate of Distance Education.
  • Mobile : +91 7082113185
  • Email_id : dde@kuk.ac.in
  • No. of Courses : 4
  • NIRF Ranking : 99
  • NAAC Ranking : A+

Like us!
Follow us!
Follow us!
Follow us!